Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-05-17 - 3:45 p.m.

Cisse still seeking match fitness

BBC News Online 16 May 2005

Liverpool striker Djibril Cisse has admitted he is still well short of match fitness as his side prepare for the Champions League final.

Cisse scored both goals in the 2-1 defeat of Aston Villa on Sunday, his first goals since returning from a severe fracture of his leg.

"I'm not thinking about starting against AC Milan, that's a decision for the manager to make," said Cisse.

"I feel good but I'm still only about 70 or 80% fit."

Cisse surprised medical staff at Anfield with his rapid recovery from the double fracture he suffered against Blackburn back in October 2004.

He joined the Anfield club last summer for �14m but only played 15 games before sustaining the major injury.

"I scored the goals not for me but for the fans and the medical staff," added Cisse.

"It was really important for me to score before the end of the season because of all the work I have done at Melwood with the staff and players.

"I am strong in my head and always knew that I would play and score again but it was really special to do it at Anfield, in front of the Liverpool fans, my family and my girlfriend."



Cisse is my idol, not because of his flamboyant hair-style nor his power and skills in the pitch, but because of his mentality. He has his shin-bone fractured into 2 pieces in the match against Blackburn in October last year. No one expects that he can play a single minute again in this season but his resilience, perseverance and optimism award him the chance to play in the Championship final at Istanbul on 25 May. Will and belief�that�s why a miracle! I will remember him whenever I face adversity in life.

Btw, he is my most favourite player in Winning Eleven, not Asamoah anymore.

0 comments so far

?lt;/P>

previous - next

?lt;/P>

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com